The 9 Sections of a Volleyball Net

Sections of a Volleyball Net

The sections of a volleyball net are used on offense for setting up attacks. There are 9 invisible sections of a net, each in equal width, starting with 1 at the antenna on the strong side of the court (where the outside hitter’s base is), and ending with 9 on the weak side antenna.

Volleyball Net with 9 sections Highlighted

The Most Commonly Used Sections of a Volleyball Net

The standard attacks (4-ball, 1-ball, and 3-ball/”red”) occur in the 1, 5, and 9 sections of the volleyball net, respectively; so a 4-ball (to the outside hitter) is actually a 14, a 1-ball (to the middle) is actually a 51, and a 3-ball (to the opposite) is actually a 93. However, the sets are so common that everybody omits the section of the net and just calls the set tempo.

What’s the benefit of using the sections?

By identifying and using the sections of the net, setters can practice setting different tempos to different spots, improving muscle memory and helping them become more accurate over time. It also helps the offense understand where exactly on the net they’re approaching to in order to execute the correct plays.

Basically, with a 9-section system, everyone can play pickup volleyball and call their sets knowing that everyone else on the court understands where they’re planning on attacking.

Discuss this Article on...